May 19, 2024
Delhi Election 2020
Delhi Election 2020

Delhi Assembly elections 2020 have been announced

The dates for the Delhi Assembly elections 2020 have been announced, and voting will take place on 8 February in a single phase in the national capital. The results will be declared on February 11 after the voting. Chief Election Commissioner Arora told reporters, “Notification for the election will be issued on Tuesday, 14 January. The last date for filing nominations will be Tuesday, January 21. The date of retrenchment of nomination papers will be Wednesday, January 22, and the last date for withdrawal of nomination is Friday, January 24. Voting in Delhi will be held on Saturday, February 8, and the counting of votes, ie the election results will come on Tuesday, February 11.

Delhi has 70 assembly seats out of which 58 are in general category while 12 seats are reserved for scheduled castes. Arora said that extensive discussions have been held with various law compliance agencies in connection with the preparations for the Delhi Assembly elections, including the security related aspects. He said that the model code of conduct will be implemented only after the announcement of the election method.

The main contest in Delhi is between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at the center, although the Congress is also looking stronger than the previous elections. AAP won 67 out of 70 assembly seats in the national capital by winning the historic 2015 Assembly elections in Delhi, and the remaining three seats came to BJP’s account. The Congress could not win a single seat in the last election.

Meanwhile, Delhi’s Chief Electoral Officer Ranvir Singh said, “As compared to the Lok Sabha elections held in May 2019 in the national capital, Delhi has increased by 3,75,000 voters by 2020, and now a total of 1,46,92,136 in Delhi Are voters. The Chief Electoral Officer of Delhi has informed that the number of male voters in Delhi is 80,55,686, while there are 66,35,635 female voters. In the national capital, 815 voters are third gender, while NRI voters are 489.

According to Ranveer Singh, there are a total of 13,750 polling stations in 2,689 places in Delhi. Out of the total voters of the national capital Delhi, 2,08,883 voters are between 18 and 19 years, which means that these people will use the franchise for the first time. In view of the Delhi Assembly Election 2020, on Monday evening, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranveer Singh will hold a meeting with various political parties.

Check Also

Line Of Actual Control

LOA – Line Of Actual Control

Line of actual control is the dividing line between the Indian tertiary and Chinese tertiary.Zhou …